Stanley and Elsie, Nicola Upson

Review

I fell in love with Elsie Munday as soon as I started reading this book. Elsie goes into service as the housemaid for famous painter Stanley Spencer, his wife Hilda and their daughter Shirrin while Stanley has been commissioned to paint war paintings in the chapel at Burghclere. She quickly becomes a part of the family, speaking her mind and becoming confidante to Stanley and Hilda in their volatile marriage.

When Patricia Preece and Dorothy Hepworth come onto the scene, things change for everybody, but Elsie remains the backbone through everything.

I enjoyed Part 1 of the book most of all, due to learning how the family establishes itself. And seeing Stanley through Elsie’s eyes. Throughout the book I felt a frustration with Stanley, yet I also felt pity for him as well. The way that Nicola Upson manages to put this across is so cleverly written.

This book took me longer to read than usual due to all of the researching I was doing. I now know so much about the lives and paintings of all those involved and can’t wait to visit Sandham Memorial Chapel to see the paintings for myself.

I loved this book and haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since I stopped reading it; I’m missing Elsie and Stanley!

I rate this book 5 stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thanks

With many thanks to the author Nicola Upson and Publishers Duckworth for a copy of this ebook in exchange for an independent review.

Leave a comment